Posted in Uncategorized

A little history…

I got my start with crochet back when I was 9 years old.  My babysitter at the time taught me the basic chain stitch and my mom taught me the rest.  Over the years I would pick it up every now and then, but it wasn’t until I had my children (now 11, 10, and 5) that I really started crocheting. 

When I first started crocheting, my projects included dishcloths, hot pads, and blankets.  Straight back and forth.  It’s easy.

However, I started getting bored with the same things over and over again. 

About 6 years ago, I started crocheting more and more.  I taught myself how to follow patterns…it came with a LOT of frogging and starting over (For you newbies…frogging just means pulling out stitches).  I taught myself how to keep my edges straight.  How to work in the round. I learned to work out my gauge…doing my best to keep the stitches as even as possible.

The last few years, I would crochet only in the fall and right before Christmas, cramming as many hours on my hook as possible to get gifts cranked out. 

Now, I’ve made a commitment to myself to stick with it throughout the year.  To do what I love and be happy…all while creating cute things to bring joy to me and to other people.

I look forward to sharing this joy through this blog and also through The Hook Up community.

Leave a Reply

